Big mommy news! (To me anyway)

5 Apr

Plus a long story, possibly with a moral.

So big news first….I am officially the mom of a potty trained 3 year old boy!  Holy mackerel, I’ve wanted to say that for so long.  It was 2 weeks this past Sunday that he finally donned his big boy undies and just did it.  I didn’t dare say anything about it sooner because I was afraid he’d revert back within a day or two like he has before.  But nope, it stuck for good this time!  As most parents know, going #2 on the potty sometimes takes longer, and I was especially thrilled   he started doing that all on his own within a week.   I have to admit – everybody was right.  Just wait and when they are ready, they will go.  And it’s soooo much easier that way.  He started off with a couple of accidents a day, but we have only had 1 accident since last Friday.  Woo hoo!   I gleefully waved goodbye as I walked past the Pull Ups at the store this weekend.  And I think I heard my wallet sigh in relief. 

Otherwise, things are rolling along in the usual manner.  Maybe even better than usual.  Attorney B is in trial in another town on a case that isn’t mine, so I’m happy as a clam.  I don’t dare say the “Q” word again, I learned my lesson.  It really isn’t all that “Q” anyway. 

I’ve previously vented about another paralegal in my office, who I call “The Soul Sucker” because she’s so damn negative, and has been known to frighten new paralegals.  No lie. She also thinks she’s all that with a side of fries.  Really, I think she’s a few fries short of a Happy Meal.  Soul Sucker, or SS, has been lamenting ever since she started that she was so busy and needs help.  I’ll have to give you some back story so you’ll understand why SS really aggravates the crap out of me.  Before we hired SS, it was just me and another paralegal working on the med mal files.  We were uber-swamped, and they decided we needed a third paralegal.  Right about that time, I discovered I was pregnant (if you call counting the days until I could pee on a stick and expect a reliable result “discovering”) and the other paralegal announced she was moving to another state.   The outgoing paralegal gave 3 week’s notice, during which she concentrated on wrapping up current projects and getting depo summaries caught up etc.  Any new projects on her files came to me, and at the same time, I was trying to dig myself out of my files. 

Outgoing paralegal left, and it was another month before we hired SS.  Of course, it took quite a bit of my time to train her and get her up to speed.  Let’s also consider the fact that I had raging morning sickness starting within 2 weeks of my coworkers announcement.  I had to take meds so I wouldn’t get dehydrated and wind up in the hospital.  Again.  So, I was barely treading water as it was.  One month after SS, we hired a young, less experienced paralegal.  Once again, I was going to be involved in a lot of training.  Newbie paralegal was to help me out and then cover my files while I was out on maternity leave.   Would you believe that before Newbie started, SS had the balls to come into my office and talk about how excited she was about Newbie because she was sooo busy and could give her some stuff to do?   With the pregnancy hormones, it’s a wonder I didn’t pound her into the ground simply by willing it. 

After I went out on leave, it didn’t take long for SS to make Newbie her depo summary slave.  Anyway, Newbie didn’t have the greatest attitude and I wasn’t heartbroken when she eventually left.  But SS has never stopped from whining about how busy she is whenever given a chance.  She also attempts whenever possible to recruit others to help her.  Hell, she’ll even ask the legal assistant to find something in the file for her.  Or make one copy of something.  Even the attorneys around here will get off their royal butts and copy something or look in the file. 

She had the balls to complain to Attorney B that she was too busy.  She took an outdated list that his assistant had made up that listed which paralegal had which file (an unsuccessful attempt to educate him, then was abandoned), and added a lot of BS to her portion of the list.  I hate that I missed it, but I later heard that he took a pen and crossed out several of those things and told her that she will probably find out that she has LESS files than everybody else. 

Fast forward another year or so to last week.  Apparently, she decided to try her luck with Attorney A.  Attorney A is a lot more sympathetic, and sent us all an email that he wanted a list of all the cases we had and a brief status report.  No problem.  I put together my list and emailed it to him.  Upon his request, I created a document on the network where we could all list our cases and keep it updated.  I predicted that SS’s list would be the same or slightly less than mine or Other Paralegal’s list.  And it was.  I love it when karma comes back around.  I wonder how all of that bitching and complaining about being too busy looks now.

6 Responses to “Big mommy news! (To me anyway)”

  1. Practical Paralegalism April 5, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    Congrats on the potty-training! That is an exciting day in a mommy’s wallet, I mean, life 🙂

    A central case list that everyone on the team can see – how delightfully fiendish…lol.

    • Momalegal April 5, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

      I know, right? WITH status. I got plenty to do & don’t complain, so it doesn’t bother me! Why can’t people just do their job & not worry about everybody else?

      Moral: don’t complain that you are way too busy unless you know for a fact that you outwork the other paralegals. Or if you farm out half your work.

  2. Cher April 6, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    *does happy potty dance* I know that is a HUGE weight lifted off your shoulders. 🙂

    I think that list is WAY overdue, by the way. Nice job.

  3. Corporate Paralegal April 6, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    First and foremost – YAY on the potty training!!!! Doesn’t that accomplishment seem to shine brighter then all of your other accomplishments right now?

    Second, my biggest pet peeve is people who come into my cubicle to complain about how busy they are. My response is “If you are so busy then you should probably not be in my office telling me about it. You should instead, be working on your overwhelming work load.” If you have that much time to complain about your work then maybe you are not that busy.

    • Ronnie April 6, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

      AMEN TO THAT! 😀

    • Momalegal April 6, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

      YES! Exactly! You’ve got to practically hit this person with a 2×4 to get her to shut up & leave. Note to self: buy 2×4.

Leave a Reply

