So quiet…it’s scary

14 Feb

First off, I have to say that today I am ELATED that my child has pink eye and I have to stay home with him.  It’s not that I’m happy about my being child sick, but he doesn’t have a fever, he isn’t throwing up, he feels perfectly fine.  It’s a beautiful day out and I wasn’t exactly keen on sitting in my boring, windowless office summarizing yet another depo today.  We made a trip to the doctor this morning, and I enjoyed having a nice leisurely lunch with him while we waited for the prescription to be filled.  Now he’s taking a nap, so I have some of that rarely experienced quiet time ALL. BY. MYSELF.  Ahhh….

I don’t even feel guilty about the piles of stuff on my desk because it’s been eerily quiet at work lately.  Almost TOO quiet.  Attorneys A & B (who I am renaming Thing 1 and Thing 2) have pretty much stayed out of my hair lately.  Since I’ve disassociated myself from the Toxic Drama Queen Club, I’m blissfully unaware of any of the gossip and extreme snarkiness going on.   Don’t get me wrong; I have a buttload of work to do.  (Mostly depo summaries – ugh.)  And I’m not complaining.  It’s just kind of BORING.   It’s not giving me any great blog fodder, either.  There’s no point in blogging about how some coworkers still act like it’s junior high, or that summarizing economist depositions are so boring that I’d rather draft subpoenas, or that my 3 year old is still not potty trained.  Still. 

I kind of feel crappy about even saying that work is boring and uneventful lately because I know there are lots of people who would kill for boring and uneventful.  There’s been multiple posts over at Paralegal Hell recently about work bullies.  It sucks that people have to go through that.  I know attorneys in general (not all) have huge egos, but c’mon.  Common courtesy and little respect isn’t that hard to manage.  You don’t have to have a huge ego and be a jerk to be a great attorney.  I’ve known plenty of amazing attorneys that were kind and considerate human beings as well.  I just wish I could clone them. 

Meanwhile, my office has been so calm that I keep waiting for something to explode, or a huge crisis to flame up, or….something.  I’m probably jinxing myself by even putting this out there.   So before that next crisis comes and I have to put on my firefighting suit, I’m keeping quiet myself and trying to plow through as many of the piles on my desk as I can.  Because   who knows when that huge boulder balanced delicately at the edge of the cliff is going to drop.

6 Responses to “So quiet…it’s scary”

  1. Practical Paralegalism February 14, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    on the Valentine’s Day pink eye. (This is a first for me 🙂

    • Practical Paralegalism February 14, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

      That’s supposed to read “Fist bump on the Valentine’s Day pink eye.” Stupid < sign…

  2. Momalegal February 14, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    LOL – thanks! Who knew I’d be ever be grateful for pink eye? 🙂

  3. Katie Nolan February 15, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    I just stumbled onto your blog- and this post is eerily similar to my day- only my son threw up, ensuring that I wouldn’t have to do my Depo Summaries!

    Great Blog, and I look forward to following you on Twitter!

  4. Amanda Hazel February 15, 2011 at 8:06 am #

    Yep, watch out or you will jinx yourself mentioning the “Q” word. I’m not generally superstitious, but I never, ever mention the “Q” word ’cause that’s when things usually go to h*ll in a hand basket.

    My choosing not to use the “Q” word comes from working in Surgery for almost 9 years. When things would begin to settle down and it looked as if we would have an uneventful day (i.e. no emergency surgeries or Traumas) it never failed: someone would mention how “Q” it was and then BOOM! The craziness would begin.

    I hope the rest of your week is uneventful. 🙂

  5. Jaime February 15, 2011 at 11:10 am #

    Love your posts and can totally relate to the feeling of the work being BORING! It does get old….and sometimes I want some kind of action. But like you said….I feel guilty saying that knowing that some other people out there would kill to have “boring” work to do.
    Hope you enjoyed your “sick” day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

