Potty success! (Sort of)

25 Oct

I was so excited last night, I could hardly contain myself.   We were visiting some friends last night, we had dropped by on our way home after dinner.  We were outside, in the front yard, and Mr. T would occasionally grab his crotch & kinda dance around.  Hubby asks if he has to go potty.  He said he did & they went inside to the bathroom.  Less than 2 minutes later, they came back out.  As I had predicted 30 seconds prior, T changed his mind the minute it looked like he might have to actually sit on the toilet.  So a few minutes later, he starts doing the same thing again.  This time I took him to the bathroom….and he peed!  Like, right away!  The only time we’ve been able to get him to pee on the potty before was if he sat there for like 30 minutes.   Oh, I made such a big deal about it.  I told him he could make a big announcement to EVERYBODY that he peed in the potty. (Editors note: did you know the spell checker doesn’t like “peed”?  Huh.)

The cutest part was when he went outside and, of course, proudly exclaimed that he had peed!  In the potty!  And washed his hands!  And the soap was blue!  Then their dog sauntered up, probably to see what all the commotion was about.  T squatted down in front of the dog and said, “Doggy, I peed in the potty!”  Cutest. Thing. Ever.  Ok, at least the cutest thing this weekend. 

Of course, I’m thrilled to death and immediately imagine that this is the beginning of the end for Pull-Ups in my house.  I’m envisioning T being completely trained and going to the potty from here on out.  Aaaaand, that’s where the dream ended.  This morning he said he wanted to go, but as soon as we got near the potty, nope.  Ain’t gonna do it.   He was actually begging me to put his Pull-Ups back on.  *sigh* Oh well, at least it’s some progress!

And it’s Monday, or, “The Day We Don’t Speak of” in my house.   Back to wading through medical records and depo summaries; juggling cases/priorities and hoping that I don’t get an email or phone call with a project that must be done right away.  Here’s hoping I might actually get something finished & off my desk today.

6 Responses to “Potty success! (Sort of)”

  1. Practical Paralegalism October 25, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

    Raising a glass of something appropriate for a three-year old – Kool-Aid maybe and a really big glass to encourage an urgent trip to the porcelain throne – and toasting to Potty Mission Accomplished. He’ll do it again real soon and those pull-ups will simply become a bad memory, and he’ll move on to bigger things like refusing to eat stuff he used to love, and asking to eat at McDonald’s for every single blessed meal. (In my humble experience, this finally stopped ’round age 10.)

  2. Corporate Paralegal October 25, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

    Yay! As far as peeing on the potty, have you tried the “shoot the cheerios” method? My son REFUSED to sit on the potty but when we let him stand and try to “shoot” the cheerios we were trained in less than a week. AND it helped with his aim. Because I am the only female in my house, this is one of the best results of the whole experience.

  3. Momalegal October 25, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

    Oh, dear Lord, he already begs for McD’s any chance he gets. They have chicken nuggets and a playground. What more do you need in life? 🙂

    I want try the Cheerios method just to see what he does! Who knows, maybe he just needs a challenge – ha!

  4. Cher October 26, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    Every little step counts! Rome wasn’t built in a day, right? I think that’s great! And the Cheerios idea is fabulous – try it! Maybe that’s part of it…maybe he finds it boring. Turning it into a game might picque his interest. 🙂

  5. Paralegal Hell October 26, 2010 at 7:42 pm #

    I am with Corporate Paralegal. My boys loved to “take out” the cheerios. They were damn snipers when it came to that.

    Potty training. Good times. I am so proud of your little one.

    They also actually sell mini targets you can throw in the potty for the same fun.

  6. Momalegal October 26, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    They actually sell things for that?! Who wants to have to fish those things out of the crapper? Or do you flush them? Nevermind, not like I’m going to buy them.

    Thanks guys! I wish I could say the potty success has continued, but I’m back to wiping butts and expounding on the benefits of pooping in the potty instead of your pants. And wearing undies. Because I definitely see that as a benefit.

Leave a Reply

