One day

11 Oct

I have hope that one day I will be sane.  I will regain my pre-pregnancy memory and sanity.  I will remember where I was going after I get 2 feet from my office door.  I will actually remember what file I am looking for when I find myself in the file room, and also the correct file number and what it was that I wanted specifically out of the file.  I will not do laps around the grocery story until I remember the one thing that I forgot to put on my list.  At least, I’m pretty sure I forgot something.  Did I forget something? 

One day, I may actually make it to work on time.  Without the stress and adrenaline of being on time because of a trial, or a major project, or because the boss gave me “that look” last Wednesday when I skulked around the corner at 8:50.  (Damn it, he wasn’t supposed to be at the office until 10.  What’s wrong with him?)   “That look” usually only works for about a week, until I wake up one morning and forget that it happened.  See my previous statement about pre-pregnancy memory. 

One day, I may be able to have a conversation with my husband without my son yelling, “Mommy!  Mommy!  Excusememommy, Excusememommy, Excusememommeeeeeee!”  When I do stop to see what it is that he needs so badly that he’s willing to sacrifice everyone in the room’s eardrums, he will not say, “Um……look at that!” and point to the refrigerator because he can’t come up with anything else.   Actually, that’s okay, because one day I will probably be the one willing to sacrifice my eardrums to get HIS attention.  “ExcusemeT, excusemeT, Excuuuuuusemeeee!  Um, how was your day?” 

As part of regaining my sanity, one day I will not confuse my files, thus confusing my boss and looking like an idiot when I tell him that the nurses depositions are set for 3 weeks from now in case X, when, in fact, they are set but in case Z.  Thus requiring an emailing explaining that my brain is scrambled and I am not entirely incompetent.    

One day, I may be able to …..um….. oh, damn it.  I forgot, never mind.   

PS – Do not burst my bubble by explaining that I’m getting older and will probably never again see even a fraction of the memory that I used to have.  It’s my fantasy.  And it’s Monday; isn’t that bad enough?

5 Responses to “One day”

  1. Nikki October 11, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    I hear you!! I enjoy your blog and look forward to swapping stories 🙂

    • Momalegal October 11, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

      Thanks – glad you stopped by!

  2. Cher October 11, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    Honestly, I think once T gets into kindergarten, *some* things will settle, at least with him. As for work and the grocery store and such…well…I think moments of clarity will visit you here and there. LOL I wonder if you’re like me – I have *SO* much on my brain at any given moment in time that I’m finding myself to be a little ‘flightly’ lately. I know a lot of it is the Gemini influence, but it does seem to be getting worse. I’ve always been a list maker, but now I’ll actually get up after going to bed if something should cross my mind and write it down because if I don’t, it’ll be gone forever. When I think of *anything* that needs to be dealt with, I have to stop whatever it is that I might be doing at the time and make a note so that I don’t forget it. I, too, walk from one room to another and then stop when I get there and look around like “what was I in here for?” LOL

  3. Momalegal October 11, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Well, to be honest, I already had bouts of “file room amensia” and not getting my ass to work on time before I got pregnant. I just wasn’t as bad. But I still hold out hope, damn it! 🙂
    Oh, and before everyone thinks I’m a total slacker, I do work late and on the weekends. I’m just morning-challenged.

    • Ronnie October 19, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

      Completely understand. My boss has just given up that fight. Once, one of the assistants here said “oh it’s only 8:40, did you expect Ronnie to be here yet?” and found that entirely too funny. I told her the minute she worked a stitch of overtime and/or even 5 minutes on a weekend was the day she could say something about when I arrived. She said something else and got hit with the “my billing pays your salary, and I work nights and weekends to make sure you get paid, so shut it.”

      Ahh, the joys of work–I should go back to it shouldn’t I?

Leave a Reply

