Onto another week

27 Sep

What’s worse than losing something important at work?  Spending 2 days looking for something you thought you lost, but does not exist.  I don’t know whether to be happy that I didn’t lose the authorizations, or seriously worried that I’ve lost my mind instead.   It turns out that my authorizations were a ghost.  An illusion created by a disturbing mixture of being stressed, overwhelmed and anxious, while simultaneously feeling like I have no frickin’ idea what is going on.    Maybe my subconscious was telling me to slow down and look at what I have going on in my office?  Thanks, subconscious, but next time could you send me a note or email so I don’t look (and feel) like a spaced out lunatic?  Much obliged. 

So I finally bit the bullet and told boss A what I had lost (prefaced by “For the first time in 8 years…” to soften the blow for me), only to get a completely bewildered look.  Thankfully, boss A has been so busy lately he couldn’t remember one way or the other either.  Then I called Plaintiff’s counsel to see if they either A)had the records we needed or B)would send us an authorization and see what they said.  They couldn’t recall whether they sent us an authorization either, so I was feeling better and better! 

The upside is that my office is now really organized since I’ve reviewed and touched every piece of paper AT LEAST twice.  And I have a much better handle on what is sitting here waiting to be completed. 

If only I could get my house at least as semi-organized as my office.  I spent the weekend cleaning everybody’s else’s mess, except for my own.  Saturday was a ‘work day’ at T’s new daycare.  It’s a co-op in a way; a non-profit preschool run by a parent board.  (Which I have been suckered into joining.  But that’s another post.)  They require (but mostly just beg for) parent involvement and assistance.  Thankfully, a lot of parents showed up and we were able to get a tremendous amount of work done.  Go us!  On Sunday, I met a co-worker at the office and we cleaned and organized our “overflow file room”, a/k/a “the scary room” as I call it.  It’s the room where files are in limbo between being “over” and actually getting closed and moved off-site.  It’s also where we keep the bazillion used binders to be recycled, where trial equipment is stored and whatever else other people feel like dumping in there instead of dealing with.  We only spent 2 hours and completely overhauled that room & consequently felt like super-productive, employees of the year.  Thankfully, boss A was also here to witness our efforts so we got big brownie points.  Which is probably the only thing we’ll get for it, anyway. 

Come Sunday night, I felt like I didn’t even have a weekend.  Coupled by taking Mr. T to the grocery store after he played in his room instead of taking a nap, (read: he was a complete terror in the grocery store.  Seriously.) I was completely ready to hit the reset button on the weekend.  Since that wasn’t an option (I’m fresh out of plutonium for my time-machine/Delorean), I watched the Dexter season premiere and sighed happily while eating fresh baked chocolate chip cookies.  Ah, bloodshed and chocolate.  At least I had the presence of mind in the grocery store to grab a package of refrigerated cookie dough.  (Actually, wine was my preferred choice, but chocolate chip cookies don’t give me a hangover.  And I didn’t trust myself with the wine bottle last night.)

So here’s to another week…let’s hope I don’t misplace anything and can maintain my sanity until Friday.

5 Responses to “Onto another week”

  1. Cher September 27, 2010 at 4:30 pm #

    Oh geez. I’ve done that; go crazy looking for something that I never had in the first place. I don’t know how to feel about it either; should I be happy that it didn’t exist or be concerned because I thought it did? LOL

    I think that parent involvement at the daycare is a very good idea. An ex-friend (long story – more ex-friend of a friend) is heavily involved in her PTA, and her main problem is that no parents want to help. They want to voice their displeasure with stuff, but they don’t want to pitch in and do anything about it. (And some are just flat out lazy.)

    What happened in the grocery store with T? Or is that another post?

  2. Litigation Paralegal September 28, 2010 at 7:56 pm #

    OMG! I totally spent days looking for orders that never made it to our office, or discovery that was never issued. LOL! Thanks for the laugh and the painful memories.

  3. Paralegal Hell October 1, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

    I am so with Litigation Paralegal on this. Many hours have been spent looking for Agreed Orders that were never faxed to me.
    When Boss yells at me to produce an AO and I can’t find it, I now just call the OC and ask them where the hell it is. I usually get back “oh, we forgot to fax that. It’s coming your way today.”

    Happy Friday!!!!

  4. Practical Paralegalism October 1, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

    Why does it feel so right to be in love with a serial killer? 🙂

    You’ve inspired me to clean up my desk at work, and reassured me I don’t have Alzheimers. Those authorizations are slippery li’l suckers…:P

    • Momalegal October 3, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

      Oh yeah, and Dexter is damn hot in his “stalking” outfit, am I right? 🙂 Best thing about Sunday nights…..
      Thanks for stopping by! I added you to my blogroll, hope you don’t mind.

Leave a Reply

