Birthday days

28 Aug

Tomorrow is T’s 2nd birthday party. We’re having it at a local museum that rents out a caboose for the party and you get to go on a train ride around the property. I’m really hoping T will be excited when he sees the train! I’m feeling both laid back and stressed about the party. It’s just family, due to the small size of the caboose. And I’m not messing with a lot of food because of time constraints. I don’t even know if there is a table inside the caboose, which I’m guessing there will be since they rent it out regularly for birthday parties. So while I normally would be all over those details, I’m going to let it flow and see what happens.
On the other hand, we haven’t bought T any presents yet! Thankfully hubby has today off and is making the rounds. I feel a little sad that I’m not there physically picking out toys, although I am promised a call from the local Toys R Us. And hubby is also picking up more party supplies today, and the nibbles from Sams Club. I ordered the cake from the local grocery store, but there is a little distrust as I’ve never ordered a cake from them before & I hope it’s great.
All in all, I’m sure the party will be great despite my anxiety. I’m hoping to listen more to the side of me that says – Relax! It will all work out!
Hubby bought T some used books yesterday and he was SO excited to see new books! We looked at a book last night that was a learning book, full of colors, shapes and numbers. I was almost shocked that T knew almost all of the shapes. Triangle throws him for a loop for some reason, but he correctly named the circle, star, square and rectangle! I continue to be amazed at how quickly he learns things.
Wish me luck with the birthday party – I hope we all have a blast!

Leave a Reply

