Long time, no post

11 Jul

It’s been so long since I’ve posted…and so much has happened with T.  He’s growing up faster than I ever imagined.  I’m so stinkin’ proud of him for being so smart & picking things up so quickly.  But at the same time, it’s sad because I see my baby disappearing.  He’s definitely a rough and tumble little boy now!  He’s obsessed with trains…and cars.  But he still gets wigged out by bugs – ha!  T has become such the little parrot.  He’s constantly cracking me up with the things he chooses to repeat.  (All clean, we definitely watch the language he’s exposed to!)  He mimics sighs, and even mirrors some things he sees people on TV doing.   He puts together all kinds of sentences now.  He points the remote at the TV & asks for “Tain” (Thomas the Train).  He’ll hand me his cup from the high chair & ask me to “put down”.  He even knows the primary colors now!  And he can count from 1-9 while going down the stairs.  Okay, so sometimes he skips 7 but that’s still pretty good for 22 months!   And he counted to 5 by himself yesterday in the car.  I have no idea what he was counting, but he did good.  I’ve said it time & time again…it’s so amazing to watch him become his own person, and his unique personality shine through.  Yet at the same time, I can see Hubby & I both in him. 

There are so many things I want to cement in my memory, yet I can hardly remember what it was like to cradle him in 1 arm.  At one point, I remember thinking, wow, it takes 2 arms to carry him now & I used to be able to do it with one!  Now I wonder how much longer I’m going to be able to haul him around.   His first sentence was “I get ball”.  He said it one warm day during the Spring when Hubby & I were sitting, watching him play with his slide outside.  He also had a big vinyl ball.  It rolled away & he just threw out that sentence like it was nothing.  Hubby & I looked at each other astounded!  Since then, he’s put together so many words & sentences.  He lines his trucks, cars and trains up on the coffee table, and pushes them together like a train.  Sometimes he throws a remote in, just for variety, I guess.  A couple of months ago, he tried to carry a gallon of milk at the dairy!  He was so determined to do it, just like Dada.  And, with some help getting it off the ground, he did carry it a short distance!  That’s my little BamBam.

I wouldn’t trade motherhood for anything in the world, but it does get very tiring trying to juggle home responsibilities, family responsibilities, work, and doing the occasional thing for myself.  Honestly, the thing that I do for myself lately is watching whatever I want on TV during nap time, usually while folding laundry.  Seriously.  That’s it.  Sad, huh?  I can’t seem to remember to even make the phone call to schedule a hair appointment, despite the fact that I am reminded every time I look in the mirror!  By the time I get to my desk, or finish whatever I’m doing, the thought is gone.  Poof!  There’s just not enough time during the day!  Now I know why a lot of mom’s stay up until midnight.  Sometimes that’s the only way to get anything done!  

But right now I’m relishing a rare moment to myself.  T just hit the 3 hour mark on his nap…and Hubby is catching up on some much needed sleep after working out of town a lot lately and getting up at 3:30 this morning to work.  Hmmm….where’s the remote?

Leave a Reply

